» Home » News »


Past and present members of FROST, PAIN OF SALVATION, THRESHOLD, DARKWATER and the Neal Morse band have joined forces in ALPHA FLOOD. The idea for this project originated in the mind of Dec Burke, former vocalist and guitar player of FROST and DARWIN'S RADIO.

"I had the desire to form a band that would combine modern progressive rock and metal elements with more song-oriented music," Burke explains. "And when time and opportunity presented itself to work with some world-class musicians that I have respected and admired for many years, I went all in."

First on board was Collin Leijenaar, longtime touring drummer for Neal Morse.

"While I was finishing my AFFECTOR album, Dec called to ask if I would be interested in joining his new band," says Collin. "Being a fan of Dec's music, I jumped in without hesitating."

Kristoffer Gildenlöw (ex-PAIN OF SALVATION), Simon Andersson (DARKWATER) and Richard West (THRESHOLD) soon followed to complete the lineup.

Says Richard: "I wasn’t looking to join another band, but when I heard the music, it was so compellingly beautiful that I couldn't resist." Simon adds: "To be asked to form a band with these musicians was a true honour. Years ago, I used to play along to their songs, imagining how it would be to be in a band with them. And now here we are. I'm thrilled!"

Adds Dec: "As soon as we started writing music together it was obvious that there's an awesome chemistry between us. And rest assured, this is not a one-album project, but a band that's here to stay!"

ALPHA FLOOD is currently in the studio recording its debut album for a 2013 release.

Kristoffer says: "We can't wait to bring this music to the stage and kick some serious ass!"


Dec Burke - Vocals, Guitar
Kristoffer Gildenlöw - Bass
Richard West - Keyboards
Simon Andersson - Guitar
Collin Leijenaar - Drums

Photo credit: Tom Barnes

(via Blabbermouth)

Connect with Blistering:


By FeedBurner

» Home » News

Blistering.com's official store is powered by Backstreet.

Advertising | Syndication | Staff | Privacy | Contact Us
Copyright © 1998-2013 Blistering Media Inc.